Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I (a newb) would like to design a small & simple GPS tracking system for my 2 cats

Status
Not open for further replies.

hedgehog90

Newbie level 5
Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I (a newb) would like to design a small & simple GPS tracking system for my 2 cats

Hi.

First let me tell you about myself. Just at the mere sight of the first line you can probably tell already that I am not an electronics expert by any stretch of the imagination, I am a newb.
However - I did receive an A in my Electronics A Levels, but that is not a valid indicator of my true knowledge of electronics.
Ironically, I don't understand some of the most basic things. Grounding. What diodes really do. AC / DC (although I am aware of the famous rock group of the same name)
For my electronics A level coursework I designed a scrolling sign made up of 6 or so starburst LED displays. I programmed a chip to say something like "I LIKE ELECTRONICS". Completed in a day. Got me an A.

**broken link removed**

Also, my professional job is as a game designer. I write lots of code, and I have a very good understand of all things code-like.

Now, here is the problem that I want to solve:

We have 2 cats, Tig and Ollie. We live in quite a nice rural area, but unfortunately, we've lost 2 cats to the road and the lane near us.