Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ESD basic

chris31

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I got some basic question on esd current discharge path.
IMG_20240729_140930.jpg

Some of the documentation i read, when negative pulse, the current will discharge to ground. but how? didn't if D2 is forward biased, the current will go to the internal circuitry not to the ground since when forward biased current can go one path only which is upward. If from simulation, im also seeing the current go upward not to ground.

sorry, im still new with esd.

Last edited:
Both diodes are normally NOT conducting. A negative voltage on the cathode of D2 will make it conduct and clamp the voltage to Vf. A high positive voltage will make D1 conduct and clamp it to Vdd. Anything between Ground and VDD will not make either diode conduct.

Brian.

Both diodes are normally NOT conducting. A negative voltage on the cathode of D2 will make it conduct and clamp the voltage to Vf. A high positive voltage will make D1 conduct and clamp it to Vdd. Anything between Ground and VDD will not make either diode conduct.

Brian.
Hi Brian, thanks for the reply. I understood your explanation, but im not quite sure with the discharge current path, where the current will be discharge to if D2 forward biased since current can only go one path in diode, my confusion is when I do some study i found out the current discharge to ground instead upward/to internal circuitry.

when negative pulse, the current will discharge to ground. but how? didn't if D2 is forward biased
Hi,

when negative!!! your red arrow is in the wrong direction.