Wireless Digital audio, the saga continues...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buriedcode

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I posted several questions in this forum about a project of mine that I've been working on, on and off for about 2 years. Its a wireless digital audio system for musical instruments. Heres the rough specs..

resolution: 16 bit. CS5330A ADC, stereo, only using left channel.
Sampling rate: 32kHz
Radio band: 2.4Ghz, simplex.
FEC: undecided, but I really want error correction.
Other coding: Cannot use compression, or source coding, due to latency and the signal being sent.
Objective: To get wireless, high quality audio

I've posted in several different areas of eda, CPLD, DSP, etc.. and I've had some responses, just thought the people in here could give some advice.

Right, since this is a 'real-time' transmission, the latency between samping at the ADC in the Tx, and writing to the DAC must be below 2ms. I've researched so many different areas of channel coding, both block and convolutional (golay,hamming - Viterbi etc.). It would take hours for me to explain every idea I've had, and the experiments I've done.

In the latest version:the 16-bit word is split into 12 and 4. Thefirst is encoded using the golay algorithm, the last 4 bits (LSB) with a 8,4 hamming. Since the most significant bits are a lot more 'significant' in audio.

First version was this: ADC -> Hamming (13,8 on high nibble and low nibble) -> Packeting with a 8 bit preamble -> Manchester encoding.
All using the MACH4-64/32 CPLD.

Its simple but it does the job, although I haven't tried it with a radio yet, which brings me to the point of this post.