Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Via modeling in ADS EM Simulation

edwardev

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to ADS EM tool.

I created an 4 layer substrate as the following link in ADS. And want to use EM to run the via of L1 to L2 and L1 to L3.
The method I added the via is draw a circle on the "Cond_M2" layer for L1 to L2, and " Cond_M3"layer for L1 to L3.

Substrate :

Q1) is my method to create the via correct ?
Q2) when I want to get the EM result for L1 to L2, I draw a transmission line on layer 1, and a transmission line on L2, and also draw a circle on "Cond_M2" layer , then de-embedded the port to the edge of the via.
When the length of the transmission line is different, it seems the result is different in high frequency ( over 50 GHz ), even though I de-embedded the port to the same position on two cases, does anyone know the reason ? And which result I should trust ?

The result for both length of the transmission line (blue is the short trace, red is the long trace )

Setup of the via :

Q3). I want to use a simple inductor to model the via, the first one is L1 to L2, the other one is L1 to L3. The methods I used is to get the EM result for the two vias, and use a inductor to fit the curve of the S11 from the EM result. ( the setup schematic is shown in the link below )