Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

TSMC 0.18 Layout Pitch + some general considerations/questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele.A

Newbie level 6
Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody,

I'm dealing with a TSMC 0.18 design, which I am new to and there is something I am quite puzzled about, although other designers take it for granted...
So here' s the thing: I call layout pitch the minimum delta between two layout dimensions. For instance, if you can have a channel length of 180nm and the next one is 190nm, it means that the minimum pitch of the node is 10nm. Now, here are some facts:

• The property form accepts a transistor of 185nm length, if I write 181 it gets rounded to 180, if I write 183 it becomes 185. So the minimum pitch should be 5nm
  • The same is true for a poly resistor (length value rounded within 5nm)
  • Layout grid is 5nm as well

So there is probably plenty enough to say YES! That's your pitch! However even if that is true, my feeling about it is that something is missing from the picture. I mean: what control does the foundry have over these 5nm?
Let's make up an example to clarify my point:
  • I have a poly resistor whose sheet resistance is, say, 350Ω/square
  • I make a resistor 1um wide, so I need 2um to have a 700Ω resistor
  • Now following the pitch, or just putting numbers in the pcell form, I could make a resistor 2.005um long, that is 701.75Ω, that is I have a 0.25 °/oo granularity! And this of course just because I have two squares, if I had more I could layout super-duper resistors with ultra odd values...