Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SiC Gate driver

aneesmohammed

Newbie level 5
Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, Good morning from india....

I am very new to SiC mosfets and associated gate drivers...I often use optocouplers like TLP250 in most of my power electronic projects, But now i need to clarify whether can i use a Gate driver circuit which is successful in Si MOSFETs but this time for a SiC MOSFETs. Apart from an improved technology Is SiC Mosfets require any special gate drive requirements?

For example, I need to use a 1200V SiC Mosfet from Wolfspeed (https://assets.wolfspeed.com/uploads/2023/08/Wolfspeed_C3M0075120K-A_data_sheet.pdf)....Do anyone have any prior experience of this circuit ?? If yes suggest me a simplest gate driver circuit for this Mosfet !!

Let the requirements be:

1) Need to block a 700V at worst case
2) Drain current is about 6A at peak

Hi,

if I had to do this, I´d
* first consult the datasheet (it gives the gate drive requirements)
* then look for application note from SiC MOSFET manufacturers, they best know how to drive the SiC MOSFETs (read through some different ones)

For sure you need to know
* switching frequency
* duty cycle range

Klaus

Hello!