Not open for further replies.

3Deye

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I have a dynamo (DC generator) that is connected to an old regulator which are used to charge a 24V 100A lead acid battery.

I have no experience at working with dynamos. I need to replace the old electromechanical regulator with a new electronic one. From several readings on the internet I understood that (and please correct if I am wrong) the dynamo has 3 connections:

1. "D" which is the output voltage/current of the dynamo.
2. "F" which is the input field current.
3. Ground.

The "F" connection should be used by the regulator to increase/decrease the field current which then increases/decreases the output at the "D" connection and keep the dynamo output voltage suitable to charge the battery and operate the system safely. Let's say this output should be around 26V.

Can you suggest a modern electronic regulator circuit to do this job? are there any ICs that can do this regulation?

P.S. I am not sure if this is the most suitable forum section to post on. Feel free to move it where I can get the most help!

Yes those are the main parts of it. I do not know how to implement electronic regulation but I think is good to know what type of DC generator you have since there are several options. Here are those options:

This sounds like a separately wounded mode...

Both dynamo and motors look very similar but they perform opposite functions.

Both have two sets of coils- one on the rotor and the other on the stator. Many small dynamos have the rotor made of permanent magnet and this is also common for small motors.

For motors the windings on the rotor and stator are combined in (i) series (ii) parallel (iii) series parallel. This mostly determines the torque output characteristics of the motor.