Not open for further replies.

David Gold

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,
I'm a 4th year undergraduate student in EE and I have a question for my graduation project.

My project is to measure elephant calls and do some DSP on it with MATLAB.
The the block diagram/Signal chain looks something like this:

Elephant calls -> Electret microphone -> Preamplifier -> Filter-> DAQ ( NI 6008 USB ) -> Laptop (MATLAB)

I have a question about the Preamplifier in the signal chain above:

I don't know which Amplifier I should use. From the searches I've conducted on the Internet, some people say I should use an Instrumentation amplifier
(which is a diff amplifier with high CMRR) like "AD AD620" or "TI INA217" , and some say I should use an op amp like the "TI TL071"

The mic is powered by a battery and I think that I have a thing called "floating ground" because the system isn't connected to earth :

My question is this:

which amplifier should I use and how do I connect it correctly?

Thank you very much.

Last edited:

Thank you very much, Goldsmith.

The Amplifier will also be powered with batteries (different ones of course).
Does the amplifier need to be in reference to the same ground as the mic or it has to have a ground of its' own?

I'm kind of confused about the different grounds because I read that in some conditions "ground loops" can occur.

you should amplify your signal because it is weak. you can amplifying signal with both opamp or Ic. you should try that but I think opamp can help you in this project.