Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help starting a security system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acez

Newbie level 4
Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone I am Ace and I just joined this great forum.

I am originally from Computer Science background but electronics and its practicality of things is seriously gaining its control over me.

So I've been meaning to make a security system for a long time but I have no knowledge as to how to proceed about it.

What I want to make is a fancy (layman terms since I am a CS student) security key system in which a user enters his password and the door unlocks.

It will be a door lock system. All I know that it should have a decent display saying whether the user is accepted or not, a keypad terminal, a microprocessor, a motor to lock and unlock to rod which goes in ensure lock (this is flexible since its the hardware)

What I don't know is - which microprocessor should I use to do this? I don't know how to attach a display to a microprocessor to get things done? I don't even know if I should use a microprocessor at all?

Basically, if you were to teach your kid the simple and basic electronics as to how to build a good security system like that just for fun sake, that's the way I think you should teach me to understand for this.

Plus, I also wanted to know - How can I implement Java in microprocessors? I mean, are there are microprocessor where JVM comes pre - installed(see, I know this sounds stupid!)?

Please, all this curiosity is killing me..

Last edited:

After reading the above post, I've learned that