Status
Not open for further replies.

coltsfoot

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello. This is a first post from a complete novice about a first circuit. I have made a small board to reduce a DC voltage from a nominal 12v to a nominal 9v using a LM317 voltage regulator. Having made the circuit, with 13.5v going in, I am getting 7.3v coming out. This is without any load other than my meter.

I wonder if there is something about the resistor choice, other than their relative values, that is important. Not knowing that there was anything other than a ratio between the two
(from the formulaVOUT = 1.25 * ( 1 + R2/R1 )
)
I went for 10ohm and 62ohm as this gave me the 6.2 (R2) to 1 (R1) ratio I needed.

In addition to the 2 resistors, there are 2 Tant Capacitors (0.1uf and 1uf) across input and output.

I have since found sites indicating that R1 should not be less than 100Ohms -eg
LM317 Voltage Calculator - Electric Circuit
The product information gave no minimum value for R1.

Can anyone help me with this please?

thanks

Coltsfoot

There is almost no limitation on the value of that resistor ..
Just keep in mind that the voltage across it is constant – very close to 1.25V – so the current through it will be determined by 1.25/R formula, which in fact is used in the “constant current” configuration ..
But if you use smaller resistor than is required for normal operation you will allow more current to flow through the wasteful path ..

IanP
:wink:

Attachments

• LM317 - 1-25-to-1-35V.jpg
    16.1 KB · Views: 202
Thanks for that. In the meantime, I popped out to my local supplier and picked up some 240ohm and 1.5kohm resistors, and substituted them into my circuit. I now have 9.1v output, so I am happy (although I don't understand why the voltage has picked up).

Coltsfoot

hi,