Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it OK to specify a blank hole for unused pins this way?

Pjdd

Advanced Member level 2
Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I've been designing and making PCBs for well over 50 years but have outsourced only a few for production. Those few were before it became standard practice to send designs as Gerber files. I have what may be a silly question:

When ordering a PCB, is it OK to specify the same size for aperture and pad for unused through-hole pins that don't need to be soldered? That is, there won't be any copper left around the hole after drilling. Any trace left won't be a problem. The object is to maximize clearance for tracks running between the unused pins.

The pads are there only as placeholders to provide coordinates for drilling. I just want to be sure that it won't confuse a human checking the design prior to processing it.

For example, I'm designing something that uses only half of the pins coming from an off-the-shelf module mounted on the main board. Here's an illustration:

Example.png

I fear that drilling accuracy is worse than for routing; anyway, keep in mind that soldering unused pins somehow improve the mechanical robustness of the connector as a whole, leaving less stress on the remaining ones.

Holes with no pads are done all the time. They're called "holes". But I suggest you make the pad smaller than the hole to account for misalignment.