Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I want an opinion on this boost converter 5 volt to 50 volt

alexaamnda

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Is this circle worth developing, knowing that I am a beginner?

Screenshot 2024-08-06 185557.png

The led's themselves can do the same job as D1, so there's a chance you can replace D1 with a straight wire and eliminate the output (reservoir) capacitor(s). Then the led's flash brightly and briefly once per cycle.

The two-transistor method needs a certain amount of experimentation, in order to get ample power throughput. Can you tally how much current your led's require? The 5V supply must provide greater bursts of current.

Simple boost converters are not as efficient at high step-up ratios. This is usually a key interest. You might be better off with less ratio and lower stack on the lamps. Tall strings are for equal current, equal light per emitter as freebie without requiring opto device fine matching.

Appears to be a self-oscillating scheme that fails to sustain. Getting oscillators to start is a simulator jockey challenge. Even if otherwise functionall.

String current is the care-about for LED illumination but feedback appears to be nil, or output voltage returned to the oscillating loop, a sloppy proxy at best.

Big FET and little one legged driver begs failure. Or maybe the fat FET is the timing C of the whole thing (if it worked). Expect FET switching to be very wasteful at best.