Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] I need help with my servomotor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dxtr

Member level 3
Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey everyone :)
i'm new to the electronics world and also to english languages :p
i recently bought a Servomotor and i'm hopping to use it as motor , i read that it have 3 wires red (+5v) , black (gnd) and command wire
well , i created a small program using pic 16f84 allow me to generate pwm signal (Period = 20ms , pulse = 1ms) , but all i have is a 90° Rotation :shock: and it stops
Whats the problem and how can i use it as motor
thank u in advance :)

Dear dxtr
Hi
Try to change duty cycle of your PWM , from zero up to 80 percent
Best Wishes
Goldsmith

@tpetar : Yes i want to use as Motor
@goldsmith : Thank u , i will try it and tell u the result

i recently bought a Servomotor and i'm hopping to use it as motor , i read that it have 3 wires red (+5v) , black (gnd) and command wire
well , i created a small program using pic 16f84 allow me to generate pwm signal (Period = 20ms , pulse = 1ms) , but all i have is a 90° Rotation :shock: and it stops

Whats the problem and how can i use it as motor

The simple answer is you cannot, at least not without taking it a part and modifying it.

Most RC style servos have a limited rotation ranging from 90° to 360° depending on the exact make and model.

They are designed to provide a controllable limited rotation determined by pulse width. Most devices require a pulse width or duty cycle ranging from 1ms to 2ms with a total cycle time of 20ms.