How to choose Bipolar sizes in BiCMOS design?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wee_liang

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I'm new to BiCMOS designs (BJT in particular). In CMOS, we choose WL accordingly to obtain the gm we want etc. What about BJT? The main parameter to vary is emitter area, but this only affects Is variable in the Ic equation. What are the considerations is choosing a good size during designs?

What are the side effects if Ic is too high for a small BJT?

Any rules of thumb?

Usual practice for bipolar design - you have several fixed device layouts and spice model for every layout. That is because layout change may change some parameters of Spice model. And this can change not only Is but Rb, Rc or others also.
So If you need larger transistor size better to use several fixed-layout devices connected in parallel. It is also good practice when you need keep ratio for current mirrors.
If you need high-current devices (more than several hundred mA) you should use so called ballast resistors connected to emitter or base.
The gain (B or h21e) of bipolar transistor has dependence on Ic. It is lowered both with low Ic and high Ic and has maximum for some middle Ic.
The device current density (or device size) should correspond to the Ic when gain has the max value.
Good luck,
Fom

wee_liang

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
just to add to what has already been said. Usually, the Ft of the transistor has a maximum for Ic slightly before h21 starts falling (at the higher current end). So, to choose the device area, take a transistor that can conduct the needed Ic with good h21 and which gives good Ft (if you need it).

wee_liang

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
usually in bicmos processes, the process has been highly optimized for cmos, and the bjt's are "scrap" devices. if you have npn & lateral pnp, this is the case.