Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Have I fried the circuit board?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GB452

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
So I shall start by saying I am a HUGE novice in all of this. But I do love to tinker.

Thanks to an unneeded PC speaker wire that I cut open to access the white/red wiring, I have a very crude way to provide direct recordings of all the various sounds from this toy.

It's not pretty:

fTac7.png

But it has yielded some nice results from a first try this morning:

zyuranger_capture.avi - YouTube

However just a moment ago, one of the exposed speaker wires touched the area right below (where the red/black wires are near the on/off switch) where the yellow wires go to the circuit board, and now the toy seems "dead". No sound, no lights... Not really sure WHAT happened...(the circuit board has those two wires as "P23 BAT" and "BAT" respectively... so the wire touching caused some type of short?).

Here is a photo where I've unscrewed the battery compartment to show the board:

YeDAD.jpg

I'm not entirely sure if the wire (seen to the far left of the photo) touched just the black wire with red stripe, or the full red wire... or both... which I would assume could create some very wrong "connection" between the two points.

Is there ANY way to get it working again?