Not open for further replies.

radialmind

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I'm a programmer by trade in C. A hobby of mine since 2 years is working with FPGA's, so I'm relatively new to this and never got any formal training or background using them. So it's purely my own interest.

My current project is an attempt to create a DVB-S modulator. I have a PC that I can connect to the FPGA experiment board through which I can send the MPEG packets. My intention is just to get the error coding and modulation right. I've got Reed Solomon, PRBS, convolutional encoding and inner coding working. Most of that work involves straight-forward logic though.

The specification and my interpretation becomes a bit hazy after the inner coder, so please assert the following for correctness. I'm following a document from d-atv.com where they describe how they implemented their modulator on the FPGA. The first part is a FIR filter, followed by an upsampling process and a CIC comb filter to finish things off. I'm slightly stuck at the FIR filter for now. I managed to design a FIR filter candidate using the fdatool in matlab, so I have the coefficients for the implementation. If my understanding from the DVB-S spec is correct, I should have two bitstreams X and Y after the inner coder, which according to the d-atv implementation are each fed into a FIR filter. This bitstream for both channels is 1 bit wide in my implementation, so either '0' or '1'.

My doubts are how to apply these X/Y bitstreams.