Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

downloading fpga program--mcs file to xilinx prom

Status
Not open for further replies.

circuit

Full Member level 2
Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
xilinx mcs

Hi, I am a newbie to FPGA programming. I have a board from analog devices containing xilinx virtex II fpga chip and Xilinx XCF02S PROM. they also gave me the verilog code/.bit/.mcs files. I just want to try to load the mcs file to the chip for starters because i will be later working on modifying them.

I have xilinx ise webpack and i generated the bit file and the mcs file.
I did all this appropriate to my project,

Generate PROM, ACE ... File > PROM File > xilinx Serial PROM > File Format MCS and Fill FF > PROM name ie ADI.mcs and PROM Location - C:\ADI\FPGA
> PROM type: xcf02s > Add File and Selected the bit file > another design NO
> Finish

Now to download the program to the device, what configuration mode do i use Slave Serial ? . I was told to use the mcs and bit file in series and right click on the mcs file to get the program menu. But I find in serial mode I can add only one xilixn device ? Please let me know how i can do this....I am using parallel cable IV. thanks !

mcs xilinx

Did you try boundry scan mode in the iMPACT tool?

xilinx mcs file