Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Does alternating two frequencies create an intermediate one?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CyberByte

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm kind of new to signal processing and I was wondering what the frequency of a signal of alternating frequencies would be. The signal would contain full periods of two different frequencies, let's say 1 and 2 Hz to keep things simple. The signals can be represented like this:

Code:
time:   0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
signal: + - + + - - + - + + -  -

where the signal repeats and each time unit lasts 0.25 seconds, so the signal at times 0 and 1 is 2 Hz and between 2 and 5 is 1 Hz (also see image).

Now, do I just have two signals of 1 and 2 Hz respectively, or did I somehow create a signal of 1.333 Hz?* According to Wikipedia I'm supposed to determine frequency by dividing the number of periods by the time passed. If I do this after 0.5 seconds (2 time units), the frequency is 2 Hz, after 1.5 seconds it would be 1.333 Hz and if I ignore the first 2 time units (or I would have started the signal with the 1 Hz sequence) it should be 1 Hz. So I guess it may not be very clear cut and it depends on the application...