Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design of a DC/DC converter with MPPT control for a photovoltaic system.

Zankukaz

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I am studying how to design a boost converter to apply it to a photovoltaic panel. I’m trying to derive the input control transfer function to design a control system that adjusts the input of the converter, which would be the power supplied by the solar panel. The problem is that I have no idea how to obtain this function. I know how to derive the input-output and control-output functions, but I haven’t been able to get the input control function. Therefore, I’m reaching out for guidance as this is becoming quite overwhelming. I’ve read that this function is very complicated to derive, almost impossible, so the simplest approach might be to look for alternatives. One option would be to place a capacitor on the DC bus between the solar panel and the boost converter, which would add a state variable at the system’s input, allowing me to model the input versus control behavior. Another technique I’ve come across involves controlling the inductor current to create an indirect control system, but I don’t fully understand how these methods work. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and if anyone has references that could guide me through this process, it would mean a lot to me.

You have a voltage coming from the PV panel, and an Ampere level.You want to maximize the Watts by loading it with the proper Resistance (or impedance). ...