[SOLVED] Constant current from AA nimh (down to 0.9V)

Status
Not open for further replies.

lee321987

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Constant current from AA nimh (down to 0.8V)

Hello.
I'm trying to design a circuit to drain a single AA nimh battery at a constant current down to 0.8V.
I was going to try an LM317 or an LM431, but they're voltage references are 1.25V and 2.5V, so since the battery needs be drained down to 0.8V those two ICs won't work -- right?
I'm trying to build this as cheaply and with as few components as possible. Any ideas?

Last edited:

You didn't tell two things:
- acceptable regulator voltage drop
- intended accuracy
- current order of magnitude

A JFET or depletion MOSFET current source may be sufficient for your purposes.

Okay, I'm a bit of a noob...
Regulator drop: I don't think that really matters? I just want to drain the battery, a PIC microcontroller will be monitoring the battery voltage, and when the battery gets to 0.8V the PIC will turn of the drain circuit.

Intended accuracy: Hopefully it won't vary much. Guessing... 1%?

Current order of magnitude: Don't know what that means... I want to be able to drain at several different currents, e.g. 200mA, 500mA, 1A.

Also, I have an LM741, and an LM324 op amp.

O.K., in other words, you have a higher supply voltage available in addition to the battery. Then it's rather easy. Use an OP based current regulator comprised of a ground referred sense resistor, an OP with a common mode range down to zero, e.g. a LM358/LM324 and a transistor as control element.

**broken link removed**Build a simple transistor current source with a diode transistor and 2 resistors.
the batt will discharge thru current source and once the batt voltage goes lower than 0.7 the circuit will not conduct.

checkout this link
**broken link removed**
see fig 6a

---------- Post added at 19:37 ---------- Previous post was at 19:25 ----------

**broken link removed**