Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Confusion about DAC's sampling rate

Status
Not open for further replies.

ilovephysics

Newbie level 6
Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am an extreme noob when it comes to DAC. I am looking at AD9780 right now. I want to use a DAC to produce the smooth rising edge and falling edge of a square pulse. I am controlling the width of the square pulse on the order of nano seconds so preferably edge time also should be on the order of ns. Therefore I need a fast DAC. By the way, I am controlling the DAC with an FPGA.

here is the data sheet from Analog Devices,

(Sorry can't post link on my first post, I will add it later once it's posted)

First of all, does this DAC support serial data in? I thought so for quite a while but not sure anymore. It does support SPI. Does that mean I can send my input data serially in through this port. Or this port is for configuring the DAC only and not for actual data writing.

Another thing that really confuses is that it says that this DAC has a sample rates of up to 500 MSPS. But it also says that the maximum frequency for the SCLK (for SPI) is only 40 MHZ and all data are written in on the rising edge of SCLK and outputted on the falling edge of this clock. If this is so, how can we get the 500 MSPS? I have a sinking suspicion that you can get 500 MSPS only by using the LVDS parallel input interface. Am I right?

Thanks a lot for your help!

---------- Post added at 06:01 ---------- Previous post was at 06:00 ----------

here is the data sheet for the DAC