Not open for further replies.

glenjoy

Banned
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I have seen this code and wondering if this is really working to get an 8 bit MSB first data. Please post comments:

unsigned char read_0831(){

unsigned char bit;

clk = 0;
bit = d_out;
clk = 1;

return bit;
}

unsigned int start_read(){

unsigned char i;
unsigned int adc_data;

adc_data = 0;
csel = 0;

for(i=0;i<8;i++) {

adc_data = adc_data | read_0831() <<1;
csel = 1;

}

}

1. Is the content of the char bit 1000 000 or 0000 0001 if d_out is equal to one.

2. Is this code right? because I am confused with the rotate left if it will put in adc_data the correct arrangement of bits from the adc.

I am sorry to ask this, but I am a beginner in C, I am used in assembly programming.

Thanks.

Salam,

1. Is the content of the char bit 1000 000 or 0000 0001 if d_out is equal to one.

0000 0001

2. Is this code right? because I am confused with the rotate left if it will put in adc_data the correct arrangement of bits from the adc.

You can use this simple code to read byte MSB first
Assume your data in is called 'd_in'

Code:
    unsigned char temp;
    temp=0;
    for (i=1;i<=8;i++) {
         temp = temp << 1;
         temp = temp | (unsigned char) d_in;
     }

your result = temp

Bye

Can someone explain me what will happen in this piece of code?

unsigned int start_read(){

unsigned char i;
unsigned int adc_data;

adc_data = 0;
csel = 0;

for(i=0;i<8;i++) {

csel = 1;

}

}

glenjoy, the code looks broken.
For each input bit, you want to shift left the accumulator and then insert the input bit into accumulator bit 0. Try replacing this:
with this:
adc_data = (adc_data << 1) | read_0831();

For that to work, read_0831() must return either 0 or 1.

For clarity, it's a good idea to add extra parenthesis to C expressions involving shifts and logical operators. That also helps you avoid making bugs, because C's precedence is sometimes surprising.